Family Harmony - A Buffer against Poverty’s Impact on Mental Health

中文

(Jan 5th, 2013)

The impact of poverty and income inequality on the health of low income families could worsen if these fundamental issues and the related concern of health care access are not closely monitored and addressed, according to academics working on the FAMILY Cohort, a major territory-wide study on health, happiness and harmony in Hong Kong families.

The FAMILY Cohort is funded by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust and initiated in collaboration with the School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong (HKU). Researchers interviewed 20,481 individuals of 8,355 households for the study between March 2009 and March 2011 with the aim of understanding the “3Hs”: health, happiness and harmony in the family setting.

Low Income Families Need Health Care Services the Most

The study found that household income level had an impact on all the indicators of the 3Hs: the higher the household income, the higher the scores in health, happiness and harmony. On the other hand, health care services are least accessible to low income families, who are most in need, confirming the “Inverse Care Law”.

Family harmony was identified in the study as a buffer against poverty’s impact on mental health, where more harmonious families reported better well-being the entire income spectrum.

Analysis of the Gini Coefficient estimated at the Tertiary Planning Unit (TPU) level found no immediately apparent impact of income inequality on the 3Hs as if yet.

A Precautionary Approach is Necessary

“Factors such as universal health coverage, a well-developed public transport network linking different districts and free education may have so far mitigated against the adverse impact of income disparities. However, as the adverse impact of intergenerational disparities may take time to become apparent, we must collectively adopt a precautionary approach to strengthen support to low income families,” said Prof. Gabriel Leung, Head of HKU’s Department of Community Medicine.

Prof. Leung said more attention should focus on the plight of those who “subdivided flats”: “The existing sampling frame, based on the Register of Quarters, adopted in mass population studies including the Census does not adequately cover these living in subdivided flats, especially when situated in commercial or industrial zones, whereas these households are the very ones in most need of social support.”

Prof. Lam Tai-hing, Principal Investigator of the FAMILY Cohort said: “Strengthening intergenerational family relationships and enhancing harmony can be effective buffers against the impact of poverty on family health. The ‘Enhancing Family Well-being Project’ and ‘Boosting Positive Energy Programme’ of the FAMILY Cohort are organised with the aim of increasing resilience and enhancing positive family relationships.”

家庭和睦 助減貧窮對精神健康的負面影響

Eng

 (2013年1月5日)

全港最大規模、涵蓋香港家庭健康、快樂及和睦程度的「愛 + 人」計劃研究人員指出,倘若香港的貧窮問題及貧富不均情況持續,而同時未有加強醫療服務,未來可能對低收入家庭的健康狀況產生直接的負面影響。

「愛 + 人」計劃由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐款,邀請香港大學公共衞生學院攜手合作推行。計劃於2009年3月至2011年3月期間進行全港住戶調查,其中隨機抽樣訪問8,355戶家庭,共有20,481名受訪者,以了解本港家庭的「康、和、樂」狀況。

低收入家庭較需醫療護理

研究發現,家庭收入對康和樂各項指標均有直接影響,即家庭收入愈高,其健康、快樂及和睦程度均隨著遞增。低收入家庭財政負擔能力較弱,較需醫療護理,但往往可享用的醫療服務卻最少,印證了「逆向照顧法則」(Inverse Care Law)所描述的情況。

研究同時發現,家庭和睦有助減輕貧窮對精神健康的負面影響。在不同收入家庭群組,家庭和睦程度愈高,家人出現抑鬱的問題均相對較少。

若分析不同的「規劃統計小區」的貧富不均程度,則發現無論個別小區的堅尼系數如何變化,對家庭的康和樂各項指標都未發現有明顯影響。

宜防患於未然

香港大學社會醫學系系主任梁卓偉教授說:「現時不少社會政策舒緩了貧富不均的負面影響,當中包括完善的交通網絡連繫不同地區、良好的全民醫療服務,以及免費教育。不過,由於跨代貧窮的負面影響需要一段相當時間才會顯現出來,社會各界應以『治未病』的心態出發,防患未然,加強支援低收入家庭。」

同時,梁教授指應加強了解俗稱「劏房戶」的情況。他續說:「現時人口普查的抽樣方法,未能涵蓋居住於原為商業或工業用途的『劏房戶』,而這些住戶正是最需要社會服務的一群。」

「愛 + 人」計劃項目首席調查研究員林大慶教授表示:「強化跨代家庭成員之間的關係,使家庭和睦共處,是抵禦貧窮對家庭所帶來的衝擊之有效途徑。」「愛 + 人」計劃推動的各項社區項目,包括「家」「深」幸福計劃、「愛 + 人‧家添正能量」等項目,均以提升家庭的抗逆力,建立「正向家庭」為目標。