FAMILY Cohort Findings - “3Hs” in Hypertension Control: Act Together to Save Lives Now

中文

(Dec 13th, 2012)

The FAMILY Cohort has recently found that among those on treatment of high blood pressure, happier individuals and those who lived in more cohesive neighbourhoods were more likely to achieve good blood pressure control. On 13 December 2012, a press conference was arranged to disseminate the result findings and has received substantial media and public attention.

Happier Individuals had Better Blood Pressure Control

A major territory-wide study on health, happiness and harmony in Hong Kong families – FAMILY Cohort has found that 32% of respondents suffered from high blood pressure but only 46% of them were ever diagnosed as hypertensive by a doctor. 70% of those ever diagnosed were prescribed blood pressure lowering medication, while 42% of this treated group attained good control of blood pressure. Among those on treatment, happier individuals and those who lived in more cohesive neighbourhoods were more likely to achieve good blood pressure control.

Around 16,000 Adults were Successfully Interviewed

These findings come from the FAMILY Cohort, funded by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust and initiated in collaboration with the School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong (HKU). Researchers interviewed 16,039 adults at home between March 2009 and March 2011 with a view to understanding the “3Hs”: health, happiness and harmony in the family setting. Participants’ blood pressure levels were measured by researchers according to a standardized protocol on site.

Persistent, uncontrolled hypertension may lead to potentially fatal conditions such as heart disease, stroke, kidney failure and dementia. According to 2011 statistics provided by the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health, up to 26% of deaths in Hong Kong could be related to hypertension.

‘Rule of Halves’ for Hypertension

Prof Gabriel Leung, Head of HKU’s Department of Community Medicine, said: “Our findings confirm the ‘rule of halves’ where roughly only half of all hypertensive cases are diagnosed, half of those diagnosed are treated, and half of those treated are well-controlled. Up to one-quarter of all deaths may be directly or indirectly caused by hypertension, making it the number one modifiable health risk. This status quo deserves our immediate attention given that we have the opportunity to save thousands of lives every year.” He also called on the public to be more aware of hypertension and to undergo regular blood pressure checks. Those found to be hypertensive should ensure optimal control, through appropriate management by family doctors including taking medication. Maintaining a state of happiness and living in a cohesive neighbourhood could help patients control their blood pressure, according to Prof Leung.

FAMILY Cohort Developed Close Collaborations with Social Service Groups

Mr. Douglas So, Executive Director of The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, said the FAMILY Project is the first ever tracking survey of families in Hong Kong, with the emphasis on the importance of family relationships to the well-being of individual members of the family. Close collaborations have been forged with many social service groups in organizing a serious of support programmes, including “Happy Family Kitchen” and “Learning Family”, with the aims of strengthening intergenerational relationships and contributing to the “health, happiness and harmony” of family life.

「愛 + 人」計劃公布全港住戶追蹤研究結果 高血壓控制與康和樂:及早正視 救治萬眾

Eng

2012年12月13日

「愛 + 人」隊列研究最近發現接受高血壓治療的組群,當中個人快樂及鄰舍緊密度較高的人,在控制高血壓方面,表現更理想。我們在2012年12月13日舉行了一次記者招待會,發佈有關結果,並且得到廣泛傳媒報導及公眾關注。

快樂的人能做到更好的血壓控制

全港最大規模、涵蓋香港家庭健康、快樂及和睦程度的追蹤研究「愛 + 人」計劃發現,約有32%調查對象患有高血壓,當中只有46%患者曾被醫生確診。已確診的受訪者當中,70%有服用降血壓藥,但只有42%可以成功控制病情。概括而言,高血壓患者中只有少於兩成人的血壓受到控制。研究同時發現,鄰舍關係融洽及快樂指數愈高的患者,其血壓受控制的機會越高。

成功訪問了大約16000名成年人

「愛 + 人」計劃由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐款,邀請香港大學公共衞生學院攜手合作推行。研究員於2009年3月至2011年3月向16,039名成年人進行家訪,了解其家庭健康、快樂及和睦狀況,並在家訪過程中,即場為受訪者量度血壓。

雖然慢性疾病不會即時致命,但長期嚴重高血壓可以引致心臟病、中風、腎衰竭及腦退化症等多種可致命的疾病。衞生署衛生防護中心2011年統計顯示,高達26% 致命疾病可能與高血壓有關。

高血壓的一半規則

香港大學社會醫學系系主任梁卓偉教授說:「研究數據顯示,香港高血壓患者從患病、確診、治療到成功控制病情,每階段的人數均以一半的比率遞減。全港每年四分一死亡個案與高血壓有直接或間接關係,故此情況不容忽視。我們必須從加強市民對高血壓的認知入手,鼓勵港人多了解自己的血壓水平及定期量血壓。另方面,家庭和社區的支援,有助高血壓患者控制血壓,使高血壓不再成為香港人的隱形殺手。」

「愛 + 人」隊列研究與多個社會服務組織緊密合作

香港賽馬會慈善事務執行總監蘇彰德律師表示,「愛+人」計劃不僅是全港首個以家庭為單位的追蹤研究,同時非常重視家庭關係對成員身心健康的影響,故此與多個社區服務機構緊密合作,設計及推行一系列家庭支援項目,包括「快樂家庭廚房」及「愛+人『齊來學‧愛家』」等。「愛+人」計劃希望透過這些支援項目,由家庭出發,強化跨代家庭成員之間的關係,讓家庭成員共同建立健康、快樂及和睦的生活。